Took the Girl Out of the Country…

April 11, 2011

But you obviously can’t take the country out of the girl. I’ve never really identified myself with where I’m from. I’ve always been way “too good” to claim my Southern roots…until now. Lately, I have been listening to tons and tons of GA based singers from the 60s and loving the hell out of it. There are even short SHORT moments when I miss listening to the radio and knowing that all I will ever hear it country music.

I’m sure this is just a phase that I will grow out of but I miss the slowness of the South and the weather. Maybe that’s what I miss the most. I’m so ready for Spring to show it’s face here that it’s a little sickening. Singers like Otis Redding and Ray Charles make me feel like the warm wind it blowing in my face and I can run around outside barefoot. I love New York–I really do but there are times when I want to put my feet in the grass and lounge back in a chair with my face turned up to the sun. The concrete jungle is forcing me to feel a little claustrophobic but maybe this weekend I’ll go to Central Park.

*Correction to all of this: I did make it outside for an extended amount of time and holy hell-I got sunburned. I’m pretty sure it was a mixture of lack of sunscreen (well reapplication of said sunscreen) and the sun bouncing off of the concrete and smacking into my right side–which is the only side that is burned. Hoo-rah for the sun, boo ginger-like tendencies.

Semi-Burnt Ginger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And just for funsies I’ll show you what I was watching so intently that I let myself get burned:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

His catch phrase was “I think I’m amazing”–I liked him because we have the same catch phrase.

Love from the Big City,

Samantha

Leave a comment